Manic Monday Became Boring Tuesday

Hello World! Hope everyone is well and in good graces as I write this blog tonight. Yesterday was such a hectic day, that I couldn’t even find time to blog. Basically anything that could go wrong did, short of an ambulance or fire and rescue being called out to the house.

Remember in a previous post, I mentioned that I babysit Kade 3 times per week while his Mom attends college. Kade is a 2 year old handful, who calls me “his Maw maw”. His smart as a whip and very head strong. His parents have been trying to potty train him. Last week he did fine with me, had no accidents, boy did yesterday ever take a turn for the worse in that department.

Kade messed his clothes, I got him bathed, mess cleaned up, and his snack given. I was busy working, when he had again had an accident in his clothes, stop everything and repeat the process. I don’t fuss at him over this, he’s still basically a baby and fussing him will only make matters worse. Yes he was given another snack to take his mind off of the situation. By this time, I am already exhausted.

The whole time I am trying to homeschool Lauren, who was on task until about this moment in my life. I asked her to go into the bathroom to make sure I had everything tidy from Kade’s 2nd bath of the day, while I started the dishes. I never really paid no mind to how long Lauren was in the bathroom except when I heard her scream “Momma”.

I rounded the corner of the bathroom door to find her attempting to bathe the kitten in a bathtub full of water. Now where that came from I have no clue, in fact, we had the discussion about 37 times on why we don’t bath the kittens/cats in the bathtub. Sure enough the kitten was flying over Lauren’s shoulder, claws all extended hissing the whole way. Now on this one, I had to fuss at Lauren, the kitten could had really hurt Lauren and she knew better.

Well upon me fussing at Lauren, that was basically the end of her attention span and the homeschooling lessons was over for the day, I could never get her back on task again.  Now since she was off task, I felt that “making” her do her lessons was not going to be productive at all, so she volunteered to clean her room…..YES I said VOLUNTEERED!

We sorted through lots of her school supplies and homeschooling books and she put away her folded clothes. She even passed the vaccumm in her bedroom and the hallway, so her not being on task with the school work wasn’t a fiasco after all, since she did get something accomplished.

Lauren asked to go with her sister Becky last night to sleep at her house. I said yes, sent homeschooling work and she has asked to stay again tonight. So we are at day 1 1/2 of no Lauren here to drive me batty.

Today I was able to get 4 loads of clothes done and hung up to dry, the kitchen counters and stove wiped down and cleaned, 1/2 of my bedroom cleaned (I was on the floor using the hose to clean the corners of the bedroom), cleaned out one of Lauren’s closets to donate to an upcoming garage sale, and took a load of boxes to the storage unit to get it out of here.

BUT all of this said, I have enjoyed my time away from Lauren, it’s a lot less hectic around here without her, but at the same time I miss her…..With the PTSD Lauren tends to be very clingy towards me and other pertinent adults in her life and is hesitant to leave me, even if it is to go with her sister, so I guess I need to quit whining and enjoy my quiet time.

Now I sleep, tomorrow I awake, then repeat the process hopefully on the other side of my bedroom.
Later,
Reba

Leave a Reply

