Who Else “De-junks” the House to Add More “Junk”?

Hello World! I hope your morning is pleasant and bright. While you are enjoying your morning coffee or quiet time alone before the family wakes up, I thought that I would ask a pertinent question.

My whole life, I have always saved things “cuz one day I am gonna need this”. Eventually that pile of stuff gets to the point of falling over and I have to de-junk that pile. I am famous for doing that with crafting supplies, material,fleece, my t-shirts, and buttons. By my t-shirts, I mean the t-shirts I physically wear on a daily basis. I don’t work, the farthest I go is the grocery store, so I love my t-shirts. No matter how thin, frail, and holey, my t-shirts get, I still wear them. When the t-shirt is at the brink of me looking like some sort of homeless person and I must give up the t-shirt, it’s almost like I have lost my best friend. Of course, the t-shirt is not trashed, rather up-cycled into something else usable.
I am also here to confess that I have a button fetish of sorts. I will purchase a top or coat at a thrift store just to cut the buttons off. What am I ever going to do with all these buttons? Probably leave em in my will to my kids as I can’t ever use them all, but for right now I am using them as crafts to make headbands and bracelets with. When we ruin a shirt or it becomes to thin to wear, the buttons are cut off, along with any other useable part of the shirt. If the shirt is just too cute of a print, I will cut that into scraps as well.
I am a crafter of sorts, I sell my wares to help support Laure+n and I. We attend several craft shows during the year and I also sell on Etsy.
Many of my items are hand me downs from friends and family, I am also a member of freecycle group, which main purpose is to keep the landfills free of re-usable items. I am a big fan of shopping thrift stores and garage sales, so if I have to pay full price for an item, you know I am desperate and can’t find it anywhere else.
I will make of post of items I have created in the past at another time. Right now, I am dealing with a very important question.

Who else here “de-junks” the house, only to bring more “junk” in. I am not referring to old newspapers or magazines or just junk. I am referring to items that I can use to create other items and even upcycle. “Upcycling” has become very popular in the last several years in order the rid the world of excessive waste. I use old blue jeans for several projects including blue jean quilts, purses, and headbands, old t-shirts are used to make dog toys, and hand me down scraps of material are used to make everything from quilts to hair bows, if it’s usable, it doesn’t get thrown out.

But eventually my craftiness takes over the house and I have to start decluttering. This week, I am decluttering the house of anything useable, including old clothes because my oldest daughter Becky is having a yard sale. So perfect time to declutter and help her make some extra money since she does so much to help out Lauren and I.
What does not get packed up for Becky’s garage sale is going to be packed up for a pet rescue group who is having a garage sale the middle part of April. I am doing dog friendly toys as a donation for the garage sale to send home with any animals which are adopted that day. Yep, that’s where my stash of old t-shirts, fleece, and that fabric I have been hoarding comes into play. As soon as I have several items ready to donate to the pet rescue group, I will make a post w/ instructions there as well. A couple of items require no sewing, the rest of the items, are just basic sewing skills needed.

As I am decluttering I have a long time friend texting me telling me that she “has a pile of stuff with my name all over it”. So the clutter around here may become more manageable but will never be completely gone.

As the old saying goes “one man’s junk, is another man’s treasure”.

With that I am off, to do what I do all day, which is everything, I be back later,
Reva

One thought on “Who Else “De-junks” the House to Add More “Junk”?

  1. twistnpout

    I am constantly dejunking – at least four times a year. Seems our garage needs to be cleared out every other week. I save, i purge…save and purge. That is the running theme in my life.lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

