Thursday: Another Day In Paradise

Hello World! Have you ever had one of those days that just kept on giving; giving you nothing but trouble? I have had many of those days here lately, Thursday was no exception. I had an early morning dr appt so I had to be up and ready to leave the house early. The fact that I had to be awake early, much less ready to leave the house early, is usually enough to put my into a bad mood. With that being said, Thursday my mood was unusually pleasant. Got to the hospital early and was able to pick up on my favorite breakfast sandwich, hot ham, egg, and cheese on toast, add a little lettuce and mayonnaise and life for me is good. I was even called into the room to see the dr about an hour earlier than my appt, woohoo I was on a roll.

The appt was for the GYN dr, yes I am old, yes I have outgrown the OB part of the practice. No more need for OB dr here anymore, thankfully. If I had to have more kids after these four kids I have no idea of what I would do. I mean my children are not harden criminals or anything of that sort, just were very trying to raise, now that three of the four are raised, the old wives tale proves to be true, “the older the kids get, the more problems they become.” My children also helped me to learn early on, that “patience is a virtual”, as I am sure most parents already know.

I have gotten off the beaten path here, that happens when I get to talking about my children. GYN dr says that I will most likely need a hysterectomy soon, I have a ultrasound scheduled in the next 10 days or so, then my decision needs to made on my decision of whether I will have the surgery or not.

Even though, I am not a very good patient, I had drs, hospitals, and everything that goes along with the two, I was still very positive and upbeat about the day.

I managed to get out the hospital and get home to start the never ending pile of laundry and that huge list of ever pending housework that continuously calls my name. Yep, the housework and laundry only knows my name. Lucky me huh? I was minding my business, moving right along, when my youngest daughter’s, Lauren,  neurologist called from New Orleans to review the EKG results with me. I already knew the results, but she wanted to fill me in. Found out that we will have to drive into New Orleans, at least once a week to see the psychologist and a psychiatrist, weekly. Now if we were around the block from the Children’s Hospital in New Orleans that might be a tad different, but we are about 70 miles southwest, so for us it’s at least a 2 hour round trip weekly, plus the amount of time we spend in with the dr and time spent waiting between appointments.

The neurologist also said that even after all is said and done with the psychologist and psychiatrist weekly visits, Lauren still may not be able to return to school. PTSD is back, oh wait it never left! Ok that was it for me. Lauren loves going to school, she loves being with her friends and her favorite teachers. She’s not A honor roll, basically just the opposite in all special ed classes, but she’s the innocent victim here while her attacker can attend school freely, do exactly what he wants freely, attend ball games, school dances, and here Lauren sits, staring at me for her source of entertainment, as well as parent and educator. I don’t break down often, as I am usually a very strong woman who can usually figure things out rather quickly, but the news that she can’t attend public schools, probably never again, was the straw that broke the proverbial camels back for me.

After all of that, Lauren and I came home to find a letter in the mailbox, I am being taken to truancy court over the days missed with all these dr visits/days waiting for homebound teacher to be assigned. I will explain the need for homebound in another post, since I am long winded today!
Later,
Reba

Leave a Reply

