Our Homeschooling Day Outside of the House, Without the Books

I am a firm believer that everyone should learn something new everyday. Even the smallest tidbit of new information, no matter how meaningless. Here I will share my yesterday’s meaningless tidbit of useless information. Rabbits and guinea pigs can be spayed or neutered. Yep, rats can be altered as well for rat control (we already know my opinion of rats).

Whether my youngest daughter is in public schools or not, I always try to make every experience a learning experience. She’s learning delayed, so she learns different things different ways. I have several ways to teach her all the school subjects, I am still willing to try new things.

Today for lunch we went eat at our local Chinese buffet/hibachi restaurant. My youngest daughter, Lauren is famous, for not trying any new foods or foods cooked any ways except the way she is accustomed to.  She was fixing her plate of food with her favorite selections and I happened to remember the restaurant has hibachi. I quickly showed Lauren how she can select her foods, sauces, then the process to prepare the foods in front of her. She was pretty amazed as the chef was fixing another customer’s food. She was willing to try this herself. This is huge.

She choose the shrimp and spaghetti noodles. Yes, kind of plain, but it’s a start. She stood there, watched the food be prepared, in total awe. We proceeded to the table with her two plates, plus mine.  Upon tasting the shrimp, she was “impressed”. She tasted the spaghetti and decided it was not what she thought it was going to be. I was kinda disappointed, but very happy that she had tried something new. I praised her for that as did our favorite waitress, Juby.

We left the Chinese restaurant. My oldest daughter Becky is a student at an online college. One of her weekly assignments was to search the fresh fruits and vegetable section at our local grocery store and make notes of where 25 different fruits and vegetables are grown and imported from. This will be Lauren’s second homeschooling lesson for the day. Becky, Lauren, and my youngest grandbaby Kristie Lynn were off to the store to do the assignment. Becky let Lauren find her own 25 items, discussed what each item was, and why or why not the fruit or vegetable can or can not be grown down here in southeast Louisiana. Some of the vegetables, neither of them had a clue as to the answers, so they came home and did research via the internet. They were done that in under an hour.

Lauren is due to start the homeschooling bowling league starting Tuesday.  The bowling league will cost me 36.00 for four sessions. The sessions are every other Tuesday. Plus I will have to pay 17.00 for the bowling league t-shirt. So the total is going to be 53.00, that’s a lot for a stay at home Mom to afford, but to help boost  her moral and self-esteem.

So tonight, I took her bowling. This is the third homeschooling lesson of the day, we will call this physical education, unfortunately it didn’t go well as I had hoped. She has been talking about going bowling all week long.

 “Santa’ bought her a Hello Kitty bowling ball, the bowling shoes, and the bowling bag. I wanted her to get use out of these items, since “Santa” paid a pretty penny for the whole set up. The last time she bowled, probably around October, she was able to bowl about 80-100 per game. She’s was better than I ever was.

I must say, since the last time she has bowled, Lauren has had several seizures as well as us finding her non responsive in the tub one night, as well as we couldn’t wake her up the next morning. I am going to assume that even though these “seizures” are not epileptic, they are PTSD related, they still caused some sort of memory loss, as she didn’t even know how to throw the ball. She struggled to get the score up to 43 in the second game, first game was less than that. She was in the gutter more than in the lane. She became so discouraged, we came home after she had only bowled two games. I felt sorry for her, with every gutter ball, her spirits just failed a little more.

She has confided in me that she’s not sure anymore that she even wants to do the league bowling. She was so excited when she found out that she was going to be bowling with the league, I can’t let her quit now. So Monday, I am taking her back to the bowling alley, getting one of the lanes at the very end and we are going to start from the beginning with the lessons. My oldest daughter Lauren used to bowl for a league too, so she’s going to come out and help me see if I can teach her.

Hoping this all works out for the best, as Lauren’s spirits, moral, and self-esteem can’t take another hard hit. She is still suffering from not being able to attend school due to her seizures. I will keep everyone posted on how this all works out.

Leave a Reply

